Old Stone House Library
Lending library and home of the Fort Ann Historical Society.
The library committee is made up entirely of volunteers, with a president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer.
The library is a Colonial-style building built in 1825 by Willis Swift. In 1922, the building was given to the town by George Knapp, founder of Union Carbide Company and owner of the Knapp Estate at Shelving Rock on Lake George, to be used as a community house and library. It is unique because of its fort-like construction with no windows in the sidewalls. All the windows and doors are in the front or rear of the structure. The walls are 20 inches thick throughout; the window casings and floors are all original. There are no breaks in the masonry or the stones which form the building. It is bound tight with the same mortar used when laid. During the Civil War, slaves were taken to the attic of the building and hidden until they could be put on a canal boat and smuggled to Canada, as part of the Underground Railroad.
Patrons may borrow items for a two-week period.
Season And Hours Open
Year-round: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, 3 to 5 p.m.
Display of the Moses Kibbe flintlock rifle.
“Fort Ann: 300 Years of History”
The library offers Internet access, cemetery information and historical archives. “Fort Ann: 300 Years of History” is on sale at the library.